High School Students From Across Ohio Headed to Urbana University for Annual Environmental Conpetition

No Gravatar

Envirothon now in its 20th year!

COLUMBUS, OH – One hundred students from 17 high schools, representing every part of the state, will converge at Urbana University in Champaign County from June 8-10 for the 2008 Ohio Envirothon. The annual outdoor academic competition will celebrate its 20th anniversary this year. More than 1,700 students competed in five preliminary Area Envirothons this spring.

The event tests students’ knowledge of soil and land use, forestry, wildlife, aquatic ecology and current environmental issues. Sponsors of this year’s competition include the Ohio Department of Natural Resources (ODNR) Division of Soil & Water Conservation and the Ohio Federation of Soil & Water Conservation Districts.

The top four teams from each of the state’s five regional Envirothon competitions will answer questions at field test sites and prepare a short oral presentation on this year’s topic: Recreational Impacts on Natural Resources. Students work cooperatively in five-member teams to answer questions prepared by ODNR, U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) Natural Resources Conservation Service, The Ohio State University Extension, and the Champaign, Clark and Union county soil & water conservation districts.

This year’s competitors include:

Northwest Ohio
Fort Jennings High School (Putnam County – 2 teams), Hardin Northern High School (Hardin County), and Wynford High School (Crawford County)

Northeast Ohio
Chardon High School (Geauga County – 2 teams), and Highland and Cloverleaf High Schools (both Medina County)

East-central Ohio
Mid-East Career and Technology Center (Muskingum County), Granville High School (Licking County), East Knox FFA (Knox County), and Buckeye Local High School (Jefferson County

Southwest Ohio
Riverside High School (Logan County), Bethel High School (Miami County), Beavercreek High School (Greene County), and Franklin High School (Warren County)

Central and southern Ohio
Chief Logan FFA (Hocking County – 2 teams), Jackson High School (Jackson County), and Buckeye Valley High School (Delaware County)

Winners of the statewide competition will travel to Northern Arizona University in Flagstaff from July 28 to August 3 where they will compete with 53 other teams from across North America for more than $107,000 in scholarships in the Canon Envirothon.

Additional sponsors for the 2008 Ohio Envirothon include American Electric Power; the Ohio Environmental Protection Agency’s Environmental Education Fund; the ODNR divisions of Wildlife and Forestry; Pheasants Forever; the USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service; Farm Credit Services, and the Canon Envirothon.