Hunters Encouraged to Apply Online for Ohio’s Controlled Deer and Waterfowl Hunts

No Gravatar

Controlled Deer HuntsApplication deadline is July 31

COLUMBUS, OH – Hunters wanting to participate in Ohio’s fall controlled deer and waterfowl hunts have until July 31 to submit permit applications for a random drawing. Hunters can submit their applications online at

The online application fee is $3 per hunt. Mail-in applications are $5 per hunt. Application fees are non-refundable.

These special hunts are held each fall on selected public areas to provide additional hunting opportunities.

Special deer hunts also are slated for the Ottawa National Wildlife Refuge (Lucas County), NASA/Plumbrook Station (Erie County), Ravenna Training & Logistics Site (Portage County), as well as the Mosquito Creek (Trumbull County), Killdeer Plains (Wyandot County), and Old Woman Creek (Erie County) state wildlife areas.

Controlled Waterfowl HuntsWaterfowl hunts will be conducted at the Ottawa National Wildlife Refuge (Lucas County), Magee Marsh (Ottawa County), Mosquito Creek (Trumbull County), and Mercer (Mercer County) state wildlife areas.

The early muzzleloader deer hunts at Salt Fork, Shawnee and Wildcat Hollow state wildlife areas are no longer controlled hunts. Those planning to participate Monday, October 20 through Saturday, October 25 are no longer required to apply for controlled hunt permits. However, a valid hunting license and deer permit are required.

In addition to online submissions, paper applications can be obtained by calling 1-800-WILDLIFE (1-800-945-3543). Hunters will be selected at random from submitted applications and notified by U.S. mail in September. Only those selected will be notified.

More specific information about hunt dates and locations, including opportunities dedicated to youths, women, and mobility-impaired hunters, can be found at