College Bass Tournament To Be Held In Central Arkansas

No Gravatar

College Bass Tournament To Be Held In Central ArkansasLITTLE ROCK – This week, approximately 112 collegiate bass anglers will be competing in the 2008 Under Armour College Bass National Championship in central Arkansas. From July 9 to 10, anglers will fish Lake Maumelle in Little Rock. After the day two weigh-in on July 10, the tournament will move to a mystery lake that will be new to all competitors for the final day of competition on July 11. will stream daily weigh-ins live and complete tournament coverage will air on ESPNU later this summer.

The three-day tournament showcases more than 50 of the top collegiate bass fishing teams in the country including the University of Arkansas, the University of Arkansas at Little Rock and Arkansas Tech University. The teams will be competing for thousands of dollars in scholarship money and the chance to secure their legacy as national champions. Last year’s winners were Scott Wiley and Brett Thompson of Virginia Tech, who took the title with an 8.8 pound bag.

Student anglers qualify their two-person team through sanctioned campus club tournaments held earlier in the year, and then go on to face the best from competing colleges and universities across the country. Anglers from each participating school will fish for largemouth and spotted bass 12 inches or longer, with a five-fish limit. Teams will fish a standard three-day format, with the field narrowed down to the top five teams on the final day. Weights will then be zeroed and the largest one-day total on the final day will take the title.

List of teams scheduled to compete:

*Arizona State University
*St. Ambrose University
*Arkansas Tech University
Stephen F. Austin University
Auburn University
Tarleton State University
*Ball State University
*Texas A&M University
*Baylor University
*Texas Tech University
Brown College 
Truman State University
Concord University
*University of Alabama
*Drury University
University of Alabama – Birmingham
*Eastern Kentucky University 
University of Arkansas
*Faulkner University
University of Arkansas – Little Rock
Florida Atlantic University
University of Kentucky
Freed-Hardeman University
*University of Illinois
Georgia College & State University
*University of Iowa
Georgia Southern University
*University of Louisiana-Lafayette
Indiana University – Bloomington
*University of Louisville
Iowa State University
University of Mississippi
Jefferson State Community College
University of Montevallo
*Kansas State University
*University of Oklahoma
Louisiana Tech University
University of South Alabama
Milwaukee School of Engineering
*University of Tennessee
*Murray State University
*University of Tennessee – Martin
University of Wisconsin – Eau Claire
Northwestern State University
University of Wisconsin
*Pittsburg State University
University of Wisconsin – River Falls
*Purdue University
University of Wisconsin – Stevens Point
*Southeast Missouri State University
*University of Wisconsin – Whitewater
*Southern Illinois University – Carbondale
*Virginia Tech University
Southern Illinois University – Edwardsville
*Western Kentucky University

*Competed in the 2007 Under Armour College Bass National Championship