Michigan DNR Shooting Ranges Help Hunters Prepare for Fall Hunting Seasons
With the advent of the fall hunting seasons, and as the firearm deer season draws near, now is the time for hunters to sight in their bows, rifles and shotguns at one of the Department of Natural Resources’ staff-operated shooting ranges.
The DNR oversees six shooting ranges in southern Michigan, including the Rose Lake Shooting Range in Bath (Clinton County); Sharonville Shooting Range in Grass Lake (Jackson County); Island Lake Shooting Range in Brighton (Livingston County); Ortonville Shooting Range in Ortonville (Lapeer County); Bald Mountain Shooting Range in Lake Orion (Oakland County) and Pontiac Lake Shooting Range in Waterford (Oakland County). An archery range is not available at Island Lake or Ortonville. Click here for hours and locations.
During October, the ranges are open six days a week, closed Tuesdays. From Nov. 1-15, the ranges are open daily.
Hours at the Bald Mountain, Pontiac Lake and Ortonville ranges are 10 a.m. to 5 p.m., and 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. at the Rose Lake and Sharonville ranges.
Range fees at Bald Mountain, Pontiac Lake and Ortonville are $4 per day for each shooter age 16 and older. Children under 16 are free. Rose Lake and Sharonville have no fee. The Island Lake Shooting Range is operated under contact by Michigan Shooting Centers, LCC. Please contact Island Lake for hours and fees at (248) 437-2784.
For more information on DNR-operated shooting ranges, please call the ranges. The telephone numbers are:
- Bald Mountain – (248) 693-0567
- Island Lake – (248) 437-2784
- Ortonville – (248) 627-5569
- Pontiac Lake – (248) 666-5406
- Rose Lake – (517) 641-7801
- Sharonville – (734) 428-8035
Information about the DNR shooting ranges, and other public and private shooting ranges, can be found on the DNR Web site at www.michigan.gov/dnr under Law Enforcement, and then click on Shooting Ranges on the menu on the left side of the page.
Shooters are reminded to bring eye and ear protection and approved paper targets with either a bull’s-eye pattern or a depiction of legal game. Shooters under age 16 must be supervised by an adult.
All motor vehicles entering a state park or recreation area must display a Motor Vehicle Permit, available for purchase at the park entrance. Cost is $24 for a resident annual and $6 for a resident daily. A nonresident annual is $29 and a nonresident daily is $8.