NY DEC to Issue Deer Management Permits

No Gravatar

Hunters Previously Denied May Receive Deer Management Permits Through Correction Process – UNCLAIMED PERMITS ALSO AVAILABLE ON NOVEMBER 1

NY DEC to Issue Deer Management PermitsNew York State Department of Environmental Conservation (DEC) Commissioner Pete Grannis today announced that approximately 10,000 Deer Management Permits (DMPs) will be issued to hunters who were previously denied permits earlier this year during the DMP initial application period that ended on Oct. 1. Leftover DMPs will also be available in several Wildlife Management Units (WMUs) beginning Nov. 1.

“New York’s hunters are key to the success of the state’s deer management programs,” Commissioner Grannis said. “Hunters have enjoyed a proud legacy in New York State and we look forward to helping them have a successful season this year. The DMPs greatly enhance our ability to properly manage the state’s deer population.”

Deer Management Permits, which allow hunters to harvest antlerless deer, are issued for specific WMUs to control local deer populations. In order to provide DMPs at point-of-sale locations, DEC must anticipate the number of applicants in each WMU and assign a probability to each unit to ensure the availability of the appropriate number of DMPs. In several WMUs, DEC received fewer applications than projected by the Oct. 1 deadline, while in other areas demand exceeded supply.

To issue the remaining DMPs, DEC randomly selected applicants who were previously denied DMPs in affected WMUs during the application period. With the selection process now completed, the Department has begin to mail permits. An average of 13 percent of the hunters previously denied permits in these units will receive a DMP through this correction process. Additional DMPs will be made available in the following WMUs:

3H: including parts of Sullivan and Ulster Counties.

4A, 4B, 4F, 4G, 4H, 4O, 4S, 4W, 4Z: including parts of Albany, Schenectady, Schoharie, Montgomery, Chenango, Delaware, Herkimer, Madison, Oneida, Otsego, Greene, Broome, Chenango, Otsego, Sullivan, Ulster, Columbia and Dutchess Counties

5K, 5P: including parts of Washington, Rensselaer and Saratoga Counties.

6A, 6C, 6H, 6K, 6P: including parts of Franklin, Jefferson, St. Lawrence, Lewis, Oswego, Oneida and Madison Counties

7F, 7R: including parts of Cayuga, Madison, Oneida, Onondaga and Seneca Broome, Chemung, Cortland, Schuyler, Tioga, Tompkins Counties

9P, 9R, 9S, 9X: including parts of Allegany, Livingston, Steuben, Cattaraugus, and Chautauqua Counties

For more description on these WMU geographic units, please visit the DEC’s website.

Hunters not selected for a DMP will not receive a mailing from DEC. Hunters are urged to wait for their permits to arrive by mail. Selection for one of these permits will not affect any preference points issued to hunters who were not selected for their first choice area during the original application period.

In addition, DEC will also reopen the DMP application process starting Nov. 1, on a first-come, first-served basis for WMUs that have not reached target totals during the random selections. Hunters may apply for leftover DMPs at any DEC license sales outlet beginning Nov. 1. Leftover DMPs will not be available by phone, by mail or via the internet. DMP applications will be accepted for the following WMUs:

1C: including all of Suffolk County.

3M, 3R, 3S (bowhunting-only): including parts of Orange, Sullivan, Ulster, Rockland, and Westchester Counties.

8A, 8G, 8H, 8N: including parts of Monroe, Niagara, Orleans, Erie, Genesee, Livingston, Ontario Wyoming, Steuben, and Yates Counties.

9A, 9F: including parts of Erie and Niagara Counties.

During this extended application period, DEC will issue DMPs for an individual WMU all day once a WMU is opened for leftover issuance. The status of permits will be reviewed each night at midnight, and any filled units will be removed from the list of those available, with no further applications accepted for those units.

For locations of these WMUs, check the 2008-09 Hunting and Trapping Regulations Guide or visit the DEC’s website.