Carl T. Johnson Hunting and Fishing Center Offers Winter Programs

No Gravatar

The Carl T. Johnson Hunting and Fishing Center, located next to Mitchell State Park in Cadillac, has announced its winter programs. Admission to the center and the programs is free.

December programs include:

  • Moonlight Cross-Country Skiing, Saturday, Dec. 20, from 6 to 9 p.m. Refreshments will be available, along with a movie following the skiing.
  • “First Night” Oscar Peterson Fish Decoy Display, Wednesday, Dec. 31, from 1 to 5 p.m. Refreshments will be available.

January programs include:

  • Winter Ice Fishing, Saturday, Jan. 10, noon to 3 p.m. Participants should meet at the visitor center. Tackle will be provided.
  • Moonlight Cross-Country Skiing, Saturday, Jan. 17, from 6 to 9 p.m. Refreshments will be available and a movie will be shown following skiing.
  • Dog Sled Demonstrations and Rides, Saturday, Jan. 24, from noon to 3 p.m. Refreshments will be available, and the laser shot program inside the center will also be available.
  • Understanding Michigan’s Black Bear, Saturday, Jan. 31, noon to 2 p.m.

North American Snowmobile Festival Weekend, February programs include:

  • North American Snowmobile Festival Weekend, Saturday, Feb. 7. Contact the center for more information on this event by calling 231-779-1321.
  • Michigan Winter Free Fishing Weekend event, Saturday, Feb. 14. Free ice fishing tackle and bait will be provided all weekend by the visitor center. There will be moonlight cross-country skiing on Feb. 14 too, from 6 to 9 p.m., and a movie will be shown following the skiing.
  • Winter Ice Fishing, Saturday, Feb. 21, from noon to 3 p.m. Participants should meet at the visitor center. Free tackle will be provided.
  • Dog Sled Demonstrations and Rides, Saturday, Feb. 28, from noon to 3 p.m. Also, the laser shot program will be available inside the visitor center.

March Programs include:

  • Understanding Michigan’s Black Bear, Saturday, March 7, noon to 2 p.m.
  • Moonlight Cross-Country Skiing, Saturday, March 14, 6 to 9 p.m. Refreshments and a movie will follow.
  • Wetland Trail Snowshoeing, Saturday, March 21, 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. A limited number of snowshoes will be available, or participants can use their own.
  • Dog Sled Demonstrations and Rides, Saturday, March 28, from noon to 3 p.m. Refreshments will be available, as well as the laser shot program inside the visitor center.

For more information about any of these programs, call the Carl T. Johnson Hunting and Fishing Center at 231-779-1321.