Federal Youth Waterfowl Days Will Be Held Jan. 31-Feb. 1 Throughout S.C.

No Gravatar

Federal Youth Waterfowl Days Will Be Held Jan. 31-Feb. 1Young waterfowl hunters across the state will enjoy special days in the field Saturday, Jan. 31 and Sunday, Feb. 1 by participating in Youth Waterfowl Days on private lands and on some S.C. Department of Natural Resources Waterfowl Management Areas.

Hunters 15 years of age or younger may hunt ducks, geese, mergansers and coots on Saturday, Jan. 31 and Sunday, Feb. 1 when accompanied by an adult at least 18 years of age. Daily and possession bag limits are the same as the regular duck season. The adult cannot carry a firearm or hunt and does not have to be licensed. South Carolina youth waterfowl hunters are not required to have the federal waterfowl stamp and the HIP (migratory bird) permit for the Jan. 31-Feb. 1 hunt. For more information on Youth Waterfowl Days, call (803) 734-3886 in Columbia.

Find out more about Migratory Bird Regulations.

“These hunts offer the perfect opportunity for youth to be introduced to waterfowl hunting in a positive manner,” said S.C. Department of Natural Resources (DNR) biologist Dean Harrigal.

Many DNR Waterfowl Management Areas will be open for public hunting on Saturday, Jan. 31 for Youth Waterfowl Day (DNR Waterfowl Management Areas are not open on Sundays). Waterfowl Management Areas that are open Saturday mornings during the regular waterfowl season will be open for Youth Waterfowl Day on Saturday, Jan. 31.

These include:

  • Biedler Impoundment WMA in Sumter County
  • Carr Creek (bounded by Samworth WMA)
  • Dunaway WMA in Union County
  • Duncan Creek WMA in Laurens County
  • Hatchery WMA in Berkeley County
  • Enoree River WMA in Newberry County
  • Forty Acre Rock HP in Lancaster County
  • Hickory Top Greentree Reservoir in Clarendon County
  • Little Carr Creek (bounded by Samworth WMA)
  • Marsh WMA in Marion County
  • Monticello Reservoir WMA in Fairfield County
  • Moultrie WMA in Berkeley County
  • Parr Reservoir WMA in Fairfield County
  • Potato Creek WMA in Clarendon County
  • Russell Creek WMA in McCormick County
  • Turtle Island WMA in Jasper County
  • Tyger River WMA in Union County
  • Sampson Island Unit of Bear Island WMA in Colleton County
  • Waccamaw River HP in Horry County
  • Wee Tee WMA in Williamsburg County
  • Woodbury WMA in Marion County

Nontoxic shot (such as steel, bismuth-tin, tungsten-iron or tungsten-polymer) is required for all waterfowl hunting. The possession of lead shot is prohibited for all waterfowl hunting statewide.

DNR protects and manages South Carolina’s natural resources by making wise and balanced decisions for the benefit of the state’s natural resources and its people.