image linking to 100 Top Bass Fishing Sites image linking to 100 Top Saltwater Fishing Sites image linking to 100 Top Fly Fishing Sites image linking to 100 Top Walleye Sites image linking to 100 Top Small Game Sites image linking to 100 Top Birds and Waterfowl Sites
You are currently viewing the old OUTDOOR CENTRAL.COM website ARCHIVES.  For the latest in hunting, fishing, and outdoor recreation related news, and an ALL NEW experience, including user friendly navigation, search capabilities, an Outdoor Central Video Network, and more, be sure to visit our NEW WEBSITE, located at    Visit the new, improved website, you'll be glad you did!  CLICK HERE

DNR pistol team on target during recent competitions

The Minnesota DNR conservation officer team recaptured the Game Warden Jug at the 37th Annual Basil Irwin Memorial Game Warden Pistol Match held recently in Caledonia. The competition is open to all Minnesota licensed peace officers.

Minnesota’s five-man team consisted of conservation officers Greg Abraham, Mitch Boyum, Greg Oldakowski, Kevin Neitzke and Larry Webinger. The Minnesota team posted a score of 5,083 out of a possible 6,000. The individual high overall shooter was Abraham, a conservation officer from Lake Crystal, winning "The Cup" trophy with a score of 1104-14X.

Conservation officers placing in individual match stages were: Greg Abraham, first place in bull’s eye, second place in practice pistol course, and first place in the tactical steel course. Larry Webinger placed second in bull’s eye. Alternate team members representing Minnesota were conservation officers Todd Kanieski and Travis Muyres. The chief range officer was conservation officer Ross Opsahl, who was assisted by Kanieski and Muyres.

The Basil Irwin Memorial Game Warden Pistol match is held annually among Midwest DNR agencies. Participating states in this year’s match were Minnesota, Iowa and Wisconsin. The 38th annual match will be held next August or September in Wisconsin.

Minnesota DNR conservation officers were also winners at the Minnesota Police and Peace Officer Association State Bull’s Eye Championship held recently in St. Cloud. Officers Greg Abraham, Mitch Boyum, Kevin Neitzke and Larry Webinger won the four-man team – 2003 State Championship. Officers Mike Hammer and Ross Opsahl finished first in the two-man expert team category. In the Distinguished Master Class, Abraham took first place in time fire match, second place in Camp Perry Match, and second place in grand aggregate.

Other winners included: Master class, Kevin Neitzke, first place in Camp Perry Match; Ross Opsahl, second place in timed fire match; Marksman Class, Mike Hammer, second place in timed fire match and third place in grand aggregate.

Governor’s top twenty shooters from Minnesota were Greg Abraham (2), Paul Rice- Retired Officer (11), Kevin Neitzke (16) and Ross Opsahl (19). The Governor’s top twenty recognizes the Camp Perry competitors with the 20 highest averages in the Minnesota Police and Peace Officers Association - Camp Perry Police League.

“We are extremely proud of these officers,” said DNR Chief Conservation Officer Mike Hamm. “Their diligent practice and collective team effort served as contributing factors for the success they achieved – not to mention, they are simply excellent shooters.”




Click Here To Return To The Previous Page

<%server.execute "/bottom.asp"%>