DADE COUNTY HUNTER SAFETY COURSE SET
September 24, 2003
WEST PALM BEACH--If you’re not sure about Florida’s hunting laws and would like to learn more about the legal aspects of hunting in the Sunshine State, the Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission’s free Hunter Safety course is for you.
In addition to laws, other subjects covered during the 16-hour course include gun safety, survival, first-aid, wildlife identification, ethics, firearms, ammunition, black powder, wildlife management, marksmanship and archery. Students also attend a range outing, where they will get hands-on experience shooting rifles, shotguns, bows and muzzleloaders.
People of any age can attend, and families are encouraged to come and learn together. ALSO, FOR ANYONE BORN ON OR AFTER JUNE 1, 1975, THIS COURSE IS MANDATORY TO BE ABLE TO PURCHASE A HUNTING LICENSE.
The next course in Dade County will take place from 6-10 p.m. on October 3, from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. on October 4 and the range portion of the course on October 5 from 8 a.m. to 12 noon. The Hunter Education course will be held at the American Legion located at 6445 N.E. 7 Avenue in Miami. Attendance on all three days is required in order to pass the course. Children 15 years old and under must be accompanied by an adult.
Reservations are required. You can now register for a Hunter Safety course online at http://floridaconservation.org/huntered/, or you may call the Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission Office at (561) 625-5126.
Click Here To Return To The Previous Page